Department of Afrikaans and Theory of Literature


Die Departement Afrikaans en Nederlands was een van die eerste Afrikaanse departemente in die land. Die destydse hoof van die departement was prof HJJM van der Merwe, 'n bekende taalkundige.

In die tagtigerjare is die departement se naam verander na die Departement Afrikaans. Hierdie departement het in 2002 met die Departement Algemene Literatuurwetenskap saamgesmelt, waardeur die Departement Afrikaans en Algemene Literatuurwetenskap tot stand gekom het. Tans het die departement ongeveer 15 000 Afrikaanse studente. Die huidige hoof van die departement is prof. M Keuris. Die hoof van Afrikaans Taalkunde is prof. EO Saal en dr. E Lemmer is die hoof van Afrikaans Letterkunde.

Theory of Literature

The modules in Theory of Literature have been designed to provide an overview of current issues and debates in literary studies and to develop the critical skills for students to engage in literary theoretical study and communication.  The modules represent a detailed study of each of the three literary genres, and include a demonstration and the application of reading strategies appropriate to poetic, dramatic and narrative texts.

World Languages and Literature

The Modern Romance Literatures modules centre on major literary works of the twentieth century from the French- Italian-, Portuguese- and Spanish-speaking world.  They are read and studied through the medium of English. Our approach to literary texts is thematic and we describe and illustrate how this is achieved in the joint Study Guide for the modules. The works comprise novels, short stories, plays and poems, written in the most diverse styles.

Contact us

Room 10-90
Theo van Wijk Building
University of South Africa

Postal address
Chairperson of Department
Afrikaans and Theory of Literature

E-mail the department
Chairperson of Department:
Secretary of the department:

Telephone (secretary of the department)
National: 012 429 6308
International: +27 12 429 6308

Attention: Chairperson of Department
Afrikaans and Theory of Literature
Fax (national): 012 429 8094/3221
Fax (international): +27 12 8164/429 3221

Last modified: Thu Apr 12 15:12:57 SAST 2018