Unisa Council


As Africa's largest open distance learning institution, Unisa prides itself on its sound and transparent corporate governance. In an effort to systematically inculcate this level of corporate governance in the institution, establishing Unisa as a leader in sound corporate governance features as a key goal in the university's strategy.

While areas like ethics and conflict management are managed by a series of policies and processes, the process of governing the university as a whole is managed by the Unisa Council.

Council governs the university in accordance with the law and generally recognised principles of good governance.

In addition, Council also

  • provides effective leadership based on an ethical foundation.
  • retains full and effective control over the university and is responsible for monitoring management in respect of implementation of plans and strategies.
  • ensures that the university is and is seen to be a responsible corporate citizen in its governance function.
  • determines the strategic direction of the university.
  • plays a critical role in developing of the strategic plan of the university.
  • is responsible for information technology governance.
  • approves the policies of the university.
  • develops a code of conduct.

Last modified: 2023/04/12