Department of African Languages

About us

In line with the University of South Africa's status as a world-class open-distance teaching, learning and research institution, the Department of African Languages is committed to the promotion, development and use of the official African languages, in namely Sesotho sa Leboa, Sesotho, Setswana, Tshivenda, Xitsonga, isiXhosa, isiZulu, Siswati and isiNdebele.

The Department of African Languages' mission is to serve learners and scholars in order to promote and protect their right to the development and use of the African languages. To this end the Department, in collaboration with its strategic partners and in accordance with the national constitution and international vision for the development and use of the African languages,

  • offers a full range of quality learning programmes in higher education and certification including doctoral level in the African languages to learners and scholars within and beyond the borders of South Africa by means of:
    • appropriate, innovative and flexible open-distance teaching and learning modes, methods, media and technology in the African languages o efficient learner support, particularly through the language of the learner
    • accessibility of academic and administrative staff through appropriate contact and distance techniques
    • the assessment and accreditation of experiential learning
  • conducts research in order to advance knowledge of the African languages and to promote scholarship in the African languages and serves as a partner by reaching out to the community through its expertise in the African languages.

Last modified: 2022/03/09