Research & Innovation Week 2020

Awards categories

2019 Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Research

The Chancellor’s Prize for Excellence in Research is a coveted bi-annual prize that is given to outstanding and deserving active UNISA researchers or research groups. This prestigious prize is aimed at recognising and rewarding researchers producing excellent, high-quality research at UNISA, thereby supporting the 2017-2020 Research and Innovation strategic goal of increasing innovative research and research capacity through a supportive, enabling research environment.

2019 Youngest Woman Doctoral Graduate

The Youngest PhD Graduate Award goes to the youngest staff member to attain a PhD during the graduation proceedings of the preceding year. The prize reflects the importance of increasing the number of doctoral graduates and lays emphasis on the magnitude attached to South Africans completing doctoral studies at a young age.

2019 Developing Researcher Women Award

Developing Researcher Women Award is granted to a staff member who in the last five years has demonstrated an upward trajectory, by over and above acquiring a doctorate and producing research outputs.
The requirements for eligibility for this award are that the researchers in this category should have produced:

  • at least three research outputs in journals, books or book chapters;
  • scientific papers presented in peer-reviewed conference proceedings;
  • monographs; and / or
  • participated in an Art Exhibition and / or performances, at the very least.

2019 Leadership in Research Women Award

The Leadership in Research Women Award is granted to women researchers who, in the last five years, have demonstrated outstanding leadership in research through:

  • publishing at least five research outputs in journals, book chapters and books;
  • had a journal editorship role; and
  • supervised substantially at the Masters or Doctoral levels and mentored a number of colleagues.

2019/20 Hiddingh-Currie Award

The Hiddingh-Currie Award is a literary award given out annually to an outstanding author of published work within the Unisa Press. It is aimed at encouraging and nourishing specialised skills in academic research and scholarly publishing.

The Hiddingh-Currie Memorial Fund dates back to 1933, where funds from the sale of the old University Buildings in Queen Victoria Street, Cape Town were made available for the establishment of the fund. Dr William Hiddingh and Sir Donald Currie had each contributed £25,000 towards the construction of the old University Buildings, and this was considered a fitting way to honour them for what they had done.

In 1991, the procedure for the utilisation of these funds altered, so that a book would be designated the Hiddingh-Currie book-of-the-year.  The book is selected annually by the Senate Publications Committee.

2019 Thesis Publication Award

The Thesis Publication Award is the brainchild of the Senate Publications Committee and is aimed at recognising the best thesis by a Doctoral graduate of Unisa. Candidates whose Doctorates were awarded a 1.1 and/or a combination of a 1.1 and 1.2 result are invited to apply to be considered for the award, with the endorsement of the supervisor.

2019 External Research Awards and Recognitions

Unisa attaches value to the participation of its researchers in national research and innovation awards, ensuring that its researchers remain competitive and capable, both nationally and internationally. The researchers recognised by this award have received external recognition for their research during 2016.

2019 NRF Ratings

The NRF rating system is a valuable tool for benchmarking the quality of our researchers against the best in the world.  NRF ratings are allocated based on a researcher’s recent research outputs and impact as perceived by international peer reviewers. The rating system encourages researchers to publish high quality outputs in high impact journals/outlets. Rated researchers as supervisors will impart cutting-edge skills to the next generation of researchers.

The rating of individuals is based primarily on the quality and impact of their research outputs over the past eight years, taking into consideration the evaluation made by local and international peers. It identifies researchers who count among the leaders in their fields of expertise and gives recognition to those who constantly produce high quality research outputs. Several South African universities use the outcomes of the NRF evaluation and rating process to position themselves as research-intensive institutions, while others provide incentives for their staff members to acquire and maintain a rating and give special recognition to top-rated researchers.

The rating process is coordinated by members of academia who are represented in the following committees:

  • 27 Specialist Committees coordinated by a Convener
  • The Executive Evaluation Committee
  • The Appeals Committee

The ratings that are awarded fall within the following categories:

  • A – Leading international researchers
  • B – Internationally acclaimed researchers
  • C – Established researchers
  • P – Prestigious Awards
  • Y – Promising young researchers

Source: NRF Website

Last modified: 2020/02/19