Department of Chemistry

The Chemistry Department is one of four departments in the School of Science. The School of Science falls under the auspices of the College of Science, Engineering and Technology, which is located in Florida, Gauteng. The chemistry department deals learning opportunities for the Bachelor of Science (BSc) with Chemistry as a major and Bachelor of Science Honours in Chemistry (BSc Hons) degrees, in an open, distance and e-learning environment. Postgraduate degree studies at the Master's and Doctorate levels in various research areas of chemistry are also provided in the department.

The undergraduate BSc degree includes studies of the four major disciplines in chemistry; namely, Analytical, Inorganic, Organic and Physical Chemistry. At the BSc Hons level, students also study quantum chemistry, organic polymer chemistry, environmental chemistry and structural chemistry. The department has state of the art laboratory facilities where undergraduate and honours level practical work and postgraduate research are conducted.

Last modified: 2023/08/07