News & Media

Unisa SBL bestows LIP Award on SARB Governor

The Graduate School of Business Leadership (SBL) of the University of South Africa (Unisa) held its annual Leadership in Practice (LIP) Award ceremony at Accolades Boutique Venue in Midrand, Gauteng. Prof Raphael Mpofu, Acting Executive Dean of the Unisa SBL, said that every recipient of the award is a Unisa SBL alumnus.

The South African Reserve Bank Governor, Lesetja Kganyago, received a prestigious Leadership in Practice Award for his outstanding and courageous leadership.

Dr Tshepo Feela, founder and CEO of the Diversifex Group also received the Emerging Leader Award.

Julia Petla, founder and Managing Director of Amedzo Trading and Projects received the Women in Leadership Award.

The Governor of the South African Reserve Bank (SARB), Lesetja Kganyago, received the prestigious LIP Award for his outstanding and courageous leadership. According to the LIP Award Committee, Kganyago has shown that when emotions run high and populism grows more prominent, "it is indeed possible to do the right thing and hold the high ground, all the while demonstrating unfailing civility, courtesy and calmness. If anyone has displayed the quality of refined boldness, he has."

Dr Tshepo Feela, founder and CEO of the Diversifex Group, received the Emerging Leader Award, while Julia Petla, founder and Managing Director of Amedzo Trading Projects, a 100% black-women-owned construction company, received the Women in Leadership Award.

Feela is a leader with boundless energy who has been described as someone who never stops learning and moving forward. "Tshepo, as one of South Africa’s youngest CEOs under the age of 35, we thank you for being a great ambassador of the SBL and for inspiring many young South Africans to not shy away from breaking the status quo and to never give up on their dreams," said  Cristal Peterson, Deputy Director of Communication and Marketing at the SBL.

Petla was lauded for putting black female construction professionals on the global map. "She did this by building a business and reputation founded, brick by brick, on values of care, professionalism, quality and contribution. Julia, we are proud to call you one of us – you are a true example of a woman leader who has not merely cracked that glass ceiling – you broke it," according to Peterson.

The LIP Award is the highest acknowledgement conferred by the Unisa SBL Alumni Association and considers the recipient’s leadership and business achievements over the past few years and the value these achievements have added to society and the South African economy at large. Previous recipients of the award include President Cyril Ramaphosa, Dr Mamphela Ramphele, Reverend Frank Chikane, Chief Justice Mogoeng Mogoeng and Dr Judy Dlamini, to mention a few.

"The history of the LIP Award is one that the SBL takes great pride in, and in looking back at the recipients of the award, we can vouch for the fact that, as you heard earlier, including this evening’s winners, we have recognised 29 remarkable South Africans for their service as leaders to our country and our community," remarked Peterson 

In conclusion, Peterson said that 2020 will mark 55 years of the SBL's success in developing leaders for our country and our continent, and the SBL will continue to play an active role in the promotion, enhancement and recognition of visionary and transformational leadership in South Africa. She said that this is done through initiatives such as the LIP Award, which is symbolic of the School’s tribute to leading individuals who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and visionary qualities. "Building on the success of the long-standing LIP Award, the SBL in 2018 proudly introduced two additional awards – the Women in Leadership Award and the Emerging Leader Award – to recognise the contributions of outstanding female leaders and up-and-coming young leaders who exemplify the vision, values and leadership model of the SBL."

* By Edgar Rathelele, Senior Media Officer, Department of Institutional Advancement

Publish date: 2019-12-11 00:00:00.0