News & Events

Woman power celebrated at EC Regional SRC inauguration

The newly elected members of the Eastern Cape Regional Student Representative Council (RSRC) were inaugurated on 11 March 2021. The event took place at the New Hope Fellowship church hall in East London.

Front row: Abuyile Aphelele Lusaseni (Chairperson), Tammie Ndleleni (Secretary), Sipho Khonkwane (Deputy Speaker),Yonela Msusa (Sport and Culture Officer), Zandile Mbovane (Treasurer), Busisiwe Gobodo (Deputy Chairperson), Nceba Phangindawo (Education and Training Officer), Bonginkosi Sabalele( Undergraduate Officer), Yanga Maghaga(Postgraduate Officer),Songeza Sekeleni (Speaker)

The chairperson of Unisa’s Independent Electoral Commission (IEC), Dr Benni Lekubu, acknowledged and thanked the outgoing RSRC for being an inspiration and showing good leadership among students, and welcomed the newly elected RSRC.   In his address, he emphasised the importance of showing good leadership. “Leadership is not about joining the RSRC for money, the status or individual purposes – joining the RSRC is to represent the interest of a student, which is very important,” he stated. 

Lekubu further stated that student leaders should always remember why they had been elected, namely to represent students and not to represent their party interest.

In his closing remarks, Dr Lekubu said he was impressed to see that four females served on the regional SRC, as the SRC constitution recognises and recommends 50 per cent female representation or more, which is in line with the transformation agenda of the University and gender equality goals in South Africa.

The incoming Eastern Cape Regional Student Representative Council will take office after its induction on a date still to be confirmed. The RSRC exists to serve all students.

The names and portfolios of members of the Eastern Cape Regional Student Representative Council are as follows:

  • Songezo Sekeleni: Speaker
  • Sipho Khonkwane: Deputy Speaker
  • Aphelele Lusaseni: Chairperson
  • Busisiwe Gobodo: Deputy Chairperson
  • Tammie Ndleleni: Secretary
  • Phelokazi Gibeni: Deputy Secretary
  • Zandile Mbovane: Treasurer
  • Yanga Maghaga: Postgraduate Officer
  • Bonginkosi Sabele: Undergraduate Officer
  • Yonela Msusa: Sports and Culture
  • Nceba Phangindawo: Education and Training Officer

* By Aphiwe Magayiyane

Publish date: 2021/03/29

Unisa Shop