Finalists for 2016/2017 NSTF-South32 awards announced

Congratulations to the four Unisa finalists in the National Science and Technology Forum (NSTF) 2016/2017 NSTF Awards in partnership with South 32 (formerly the NSTF-BHP Billiton Awards).

The NSTF-South32 Awards is a collaborative effort to recognise outstanding contributions to science, engineering and technology (SET) and innovation in South Africa for researchers and other SET-related professionals. This includes experienced scientists, engineers, innovators, science communicators, research and engineering capacity builders, organisational managers/leaders, and research managers.

The NSTF-South32 Awards is referred to as the ‘Science Oscars’ of South Africa, as it is the largest, most comprehensive, and most sought-after national awards of its kind. The NSTF Awards was also the first science awards initiated in the country in 1998.

The Unisa finalists are:

TW Kambule-NSTF Awards: Emerging researchers

Prof Felix Bankole - Associate Professor (Computing), School of Computing, College of Science, Engineering and Technology; and Coordinator, Information Resource Management Programme, Unisa; and Research Professor, Tshwane University of Technology (TUT).

Research or Engineering Capacity Development

Prof Diane Hildebrandt - Professor, Chemical Engineering; and Director, Material and Process Synthesis Research Unit, Unisa; and Director: JMDD Energy (Pty) Ltd.

NSTF-WRC Award: Sustainable water management, knowledge generation and solutions

Prof Bhekie Mamba - Executive Dean and Director, Nanotechnology and Water Sustainability Unit, College of Science, Engineering and Technology, Unisa.

Research for innovation – Corporate organisation

Prof Lukas Snyman – Director, School of Engineering, College for Science, Engineering and Technology, Unisa.

Prof Felix Bankole

Prof Diane Hildebrandt

Prof Bhekie Mamba

Prof Lukas Snyman

The winners of the awards will be announced on 29 June 2017.

*Compiled by Kirosha Naicker

Publish date: 2017-05-17 00:00:00.0