Department of Chemistry

The Chemistry Department is one of six departments that fall under the auspices of the College of Science, Engineering and Technology. The chemistry department offers the undergraduate degrees, Bachelor of Science (BSc) and Bachelor of Science Honours (BSc Hons), by distance education. Arrangements are made for students to complete the required laboratory work at the Unisa campus in Pretoria, or at an official location elsewhere.

The undergraduate BSc degree includes studies of the four major disciplines in chemistry; namely, Analytical, Inorganic, Organic and Physical Chemistry; over all years of the degree. At postgraduate level, BSc Hons, students also study industrial chemistry and quantum chemistry, as well as having the opportunity to study modules such as spectroscopy, chemical education, material science, polymers, platinum group metals, chromatographic analysis, and many more. The chemistry department also has facilities for further postgraduate degrees at the Master's and Doctorate levels in various research areas.

Last modified: Mon Sep 04 14:28:45 SAST 2017