Unesco - Unisa Africa Chair in nanoscience and nanotechnology

Newly established synergies

In line with the strategic vision of Unisa and the NRF, within Africa, new ties have been established via implemented “small success stories”. The new cooperations are:


  • The Nelson Mandela African University for Science & Technology (NM AUST-Arusha), Arusha, Tanzania
  • Institut International pour l’Eau & l’Environement (2iE), Ougadougou, Burkina Faso
  • Physics Dept, University of Cape Coast, Cape Coast, Ghana
  • Physics Dept, University of Makerere, Kampala, Uganda
  • Physics Dept, Khartoum University, Khartoum, Sudan
  • Kigali Institute for Science & Technology (KIST), Kigali, Rwanda
  • International University of Rabat (IUR), Rabat, Morocco
  • Physics Dept, University of Limpopo, Limpopo, South Africa
  • Physics Dept, University of Free State (UFS), Free State, South Africa

BRICS/IBSA regions

  • International Research Center for Renewable Energy, Xi'an Jiaotong University, Xi'an-P.R, China
  • Nano Research Centre, B.S.Abdur Rahman University, Vandalur, Chennai/Madras, India
  • Shanghai Institute of Ceramics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Shanghai-P.R, China
  • Frank Laboratory of Neutron Physics, Joint Institute for Nuclear Research, Dubna, Russia
  • Surface & Nano Science Division, Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research, Kalpakkam, Tamil Nadu, India

North America

  • Institut national de la recherche scientifique (INRS), University of Quebec, Montreal, Canada


  • Institute of Sciences and Molecular Technologies of Angers, University of Angers, Angers, France
  • Institut des NanoSciences de Paris, Université Paris Diderot, Paris, France
  • LUNAM, Institut des Molécules et Matériaux du Mans (IMMM), Université du Maine, Le Mans, France,
  • Université de Picardie Jules-Verne, Amiens, France
  • Elettra synchrotron radiations source, Trieste, Italy,
  • Politecnico di Milano, Milano, Italy,
  • Laser Division, Institute of Applied Physics, University of Bern, Bern, Switzerland,
  • Nottingham Nanotechnology and Nanoscience Centre, University of Nottingham, Nottingham, UK.


  • Ion Beam Physics & Nanotechnology Centre, National Isotope Centre, GNS Science, Lowe Hutt, New Zealand

Last modified: 2016/10/09