NRF Rated Researchers

The National Research Foundation (NRF) has a long history, dating back to 1984, of instituting a system of evaluating and rating researchers. Annually, researchers from universities and research councils - including international researchers - apply for evaluation by the NRF. Evaluated researchers are put in categories that depict their standing within the scientific community. These ratings are difficult to attain and are thus held in high esteem.  For information about ratings, and the criteria applied to each, visit the NRF website:

Unisa is proud of all its NRF-rated researchers. One of the portfolio's goals is to provide the support needed for the university's researchers to attain higher ratings, as well as increase the number of NRF rated researchers in general. Not only is support seen as imperative, but numerous incentives are available to those who are rated as further encouragement in their pursuit of excellence.

Below is a list of Unisa's NRF rated researchers within the College of Economic and Management Sciences with the rating they currently hold:

Category B

A B rating is given to researchers who enjoy considerable international recognition by their peers for the high quality and impact of their recent research outputs.

Name Department/Institute/Centre/Unit Rating
Prof WL Fouche Decision Sciences B1
Prof M Coetzee Industrial and Organisational Psychology B2
Prof KH Jordaan Decision Sciences B3
Prof Paul Prinsloo Business Management B3

Category C

A C rating is given to established researchers with a sustained recent record of productivity in the field who are recognised by their peers as having:

  1. Produced a body of quality work, the core of which has coherence and attests to ongoing engagement in the field
  2. Demonstrated the ability to conceptualise problems and apply research methods to investigating them.
Name Department/Institute/Centre/Unit Rating
Prof KM Malan Decision Sciences C1
Prof D Makina Finance, Risk Management and Banking C2
Prof JS Wessels Public Administration and Management C2
Prof N Eccles Corporate Citizenship C2
Prof Nisha Sewdass Business Management C2
Prof MM Eloff Corporate Citizenship C2
Prof N Martins Industrial and Organisational Psychology C2
Prof NM Odhiambo Economics C2
Prof SY Ho Economics C2
Prof H Nienaber Operations Management C3
Prof G Nhamo Corporate Citizenship C3
Prof S Mukeru Decision Sciences C3
Prof D Hodge Economics C3

Category Y

A Y rating is given to young researchers (40 years or younger) who have held the doctorate or equivalent qualification for less than five years at the time of application, and who are recognised as having the potential to establish themselves as researchers within a five-year period after evaluation, based on their performance and productivity of quality research outputs during their doctoral studies and/or early post-doctoral careers.

Name Department/Institute/Centre/Unit Rating
Prof LC van Jaarsveldt Public Administration and Management Y2
Prof B Moyo Economics Y2
Prof TLA Leshoro Economics Y2