Passion for science makes him Madiba-like

Unisan Kabelo Pheeha been chosen as one of News24’s 100 young Mandelas of the future for his unbelievable efforts to make a difference in the lives of others and his persistence to achieve his dreams against all odds. Read more

Less talk and more action on doing research

“You learn how to cut down trees by cutting them down,” says a Bateke proverb—an attestation to the strategic revamp and approach of the sixth Annual Interdisciplinary Academy, formerly referred to as the Interdisciplinary Summer School. Read more

My vision for Unisa research is that of unyielding excellence—Meyiwa

New Vice-Principal of Research, Postgraduate Studies, Innovation, and Commercialisation, Prof Thenjiwe (Thenji) Meyiwa has pledged to commit to Unisa and, in particular, to her researchers, to provide an ethos and an enabling environment for research. Read more

Information, research, and communities interrelated

Macdonald Rammala, an emerging researcher from Unisa’s Institute for Dispute Resolution in Africa (IDRA), in the College of Law, attended the Fourth International Conference on New Directions in Multidisciplinary Research and Practice, held from 12 to 13 May 2018 at the Hilton Hotel, London. Read more

Ethics and integrity pay off

Unisa’s Dr Retha Visagie, Manager of Research Integrity in the Research Support Directorate, has just walked off with the DST/SARIMA Award for Professional Excellence in Research Management. Read more

Son of the African continent honoured by world body

Unisa congratulates Prof Malik Maaza, who was announced yesterday as the 2018 José Vasconcelos World Award of Education winner. Read more

2017/2018 NSTF-South32 finalists announced

Malik Maaza and Titus Msagati have been recognised across four categories for these prestigious awards in science, engineering, technology, and innovation. Read more

Stepping on the (bio)gas

Congratulations to Ralph Muvhiiwa from IDEAS who will be doing his postdoctoral studies at Cranfield University in the UK from 1 May until 31 December 2018, supported by the Rutherford Fund Strategic Partner Grant. Read more