Skip to content
News & media

media releases - New Council for University of South Africa

The University of South Africa's Interim Council, under chairmanship of Dr Matthews Phosa, has approved the appointment of the following members of the permanent Council.  The newly formed Council will meet on 16 July, when its officials will be elected.
Council of the University of South Africa

The Interim Council of the University of South Africa has confirmed the following persons as constituting the Council of the university according to Statute.

Persons nominated by the Minister of Education:

Ms JA Glennie  -  Educationist and distance education specialist (Gauteng)

Adv V Kahla -  Corporate Lawyer (Gauteng)

Ms Wendy Lucas-Bull  -  Corporate executive (Gauteng)

Ms CV McClain-Nhlapo  -  Lawyer and Human Rights Commissioner (Gauteng)

Dr NM Phosa  -   Attorney, Politician and Businessman (Mpumalanga).

Persons Representing Alumni/Convocation:

Mr ER Maponya  -  Educationist and Community Leader (Limpopo);

Ms SJ Thwebane  -  Educationist (Mpumalanga);

Mr BP Vundla  -  Businessman/Advertising (Gauteng).

Persons Representing Certain Skills or Professions:

Mr SP du Toit   -  Disabled community and media  -  Free State

Mr AA da Costa  -   Business  -   Eastern Cape

Prof RH Nengwekhulu  -   Educationist/Schools  -   Limpopo

Prof J Persens  -   Mathematician/ Education   -  Western Cape

Dr MA Letsebe  -   Public Service & Social Services  -   Gauteng

Dr MM Balintulo  -   Higher Education  -  Western Cape

Mr NC Nyoka  -   Legal & Management  -   Gauteng

Ms XE Shemane-Diseko -   Finance/Investment Banking  -  Gauteng

Dr ES Jacobson  -   Local Government  -  Gauteng

Dr S MokoneMatabane  - ICT/Educationist  -   Gauteng                                         

Persons elected by Senate:

Prof MC Mare

Prof D Singh

Persons Elected by Staff:


Ms RM Odendaal

Ms LC Cesare


Ms A Hartzenberg

Mr R Bezuidenhout

 Persons representing Students:

Mr SM Monama

Mr P Siwele

Persons representing Management:

Prof NB Pityana     -       Principal and Vice Chancellor

Prof NR Mathabe     -       Pro-Vice Chancellor

Prof DL Mosoma      -      Deputy Vice Chancellor

With 29 members out of the permitted 30 members, the Interim Council resolved that it will reserve to Council the option of co-opting another person to Council.

Issued by:

Doreen Gough
Manager: Media Affairs
Corporate Communication & Marketing
University of South Africa
Tel 27 12 429-2611 or 082 4977 938

Other media releases News | Latest | Archive