Skip to content
Undergraduate & honours studies

NQF levels

New and changed qualifications conform to the requirements of the HEQF and have higher or new HEQF levels. Old qualifications are not HEQF aligned and have lower NQF levels. Qualifications indicating the old NQF levels will continue to receive the same recognition as those who will be awarded their qualifications in terms of the new NQF levels.

NQF level Vocational Professional General
10   Doctoral degree Doctoral degree
9   Masterís degree Masterís degree
8 Postgraduate diploma Postgraduate diploma
Bachelorís degree
Honours degree
Bachelorís degree
7 Advanced diploma Bachelorís degree
Advanced diploma
Bachelorís degree
6 Diploma (240 credits) Diploma (360 credits)  
6 Advanced certificate (120 credits)    
5 Higher certificate (120 credits)