Home > Colleges > College of Human Sciences

Schools, departments, centres, institutes & units

The College of Human Sciences is made up of the School of Arts, the School of Humanities, the School of Social Sciences, seven Centres, four Units and two Institutes viz. the Institute for Gender Studies and the Research Institute for Theology and Religion.


In the College of Human Sciences, a number of research projects are investigating, from different perspectives, issues related to HIV/AIDS, language teaching and learning, political and economic development, religious studies and theology, sociology, information and library sciences, psychology, etc.

Academic profiles

The College of Human Sciences has well qualified, experienced and dedicated academics in a variety of disciplines. They continuously conduct ground breaking research and find new and effective ways of teaching and learning.

Community engagement

At Unisa, community engagement is actively promoted through our Community Engagement and Outreach Policy. Each of the various departments within the College of Human Sciences are involved with different community projects.

Study at the college

News and Events

Prof Lindiwe Zungu from the Department of Health Studies in the College of Human Sciences wins big at the Women in Science Awards. Read more

All news and events