NQF levels

New and changed qualifications conform to the requirements of the HEQF and have New NQF levels. Old qualifications are not HEQF aligned and have lower Old NQF levels. Qualifications indicating the old NQF levels will continue to receive the same recognition as those who will be awarded their qualifications in terms of the new NQF levels.

NQF level Vocational Professional General
10   Doctoral degree Doctoral degree
9   Master’s degree Master’s degree

Postgraduate diploma Postgraduate diploma
Bachelor’s degree
Honours degree
Bachelor’s degree
7 Advanced diploma Bachelor’s degree
Advanced diploma
Bachelor’s degree
6 Diploma (240 credits) Diploma (360 credits)  
6 Advanced certificate (120 credits)    
5 Higher certificate (120 credits)