Skip to content
Christian Spirituality, Church History and Missiology

Staff Members

Dr Banda Head of Department:  Dr ZJ Banda
Highest qualification: DTh
Fields of interest: African Renaissance and the Unity of Africa
E-mail: Bandazj@unisa.ac.za


Personal Assistant to Head of Department: 
Ms KMS Modipa
Tel: 012-4298387 (International prefix +27)
Fax: 012-4294619 (International prefix +27)
E-mail: Modipkms@unisa.ac.za

Discipline: Christian Spirituality

Prof. C.J.S. Lombaard Discipline Leader: Prof CJS Lombaard
Highest qualification: PhD
Fields of interest: Religious communication; Spirituality and the Bible
E-mail: Lombacjs@unisa.ac.za

Prof DG van der Merwe
Highest qualification: PhD
Fields of interest: Early Christian living with focus on Spirituality, discipleship and Christ devotion
E-mail: vdmerdg@unisa.ac.za


Discipline: Church History

Prof. M.J.S. Madise Discipline Leader: Prof  MJS Madise
Highest qualification: DTh
Fields of interest: South African Church History; Christianity in Africa; South African Methodism
E-mail:  Madismjs@unisa.ac.za
Dr E Oliver Prof E Oliver
Highest qualification: DTh
Fields of interest: South African Church History; Ecumenism; Christian Culture; Early Church History
E-mail: Olivee@unisa.ac.za
Rev WH Oliver
Highest qualification: MTh
Fields of interest: Early Church History; African Church History
E-mail: olivewh@unisa.ac.za 

 

Discipline: Missiology

Prof. A. van Schalkwyk

Discipline Leader: Prof RW Nel
Highest qualification: DTh
Fields of interest:  Missional Ecclesiologies, Children and Youth Ministry, Anti-racism and Reconciliation, Social Networking and Missiology
E-mail: Rwnel@unisa.ac.za

 

Prof NA Botha 
Highest qualification: DTh  
Fields of interest: Theology and History of Mission; Third World Theologies
E-mail address: Bothana@unisa.ac.za

 

 

Prof JNJ Kritzinger
Highest qualification: DTh
Fields of interest: Interreligious Relationships;  Intercultural Communication
E-mail: Kritzjnj@unisa.ac.za

 

 

Prof A van Schalkwyk
Highest qualification: DTh 
Fields of interest: Theologies of mission; women, gender and mission; women's 
theologies; faith-based communities and sustainable development; urban 
ministry; ecological challenges to mission.
E-mail: Vschaa@unisa.ac.za

 

Prof TD Mashau 
Highest qualification: PhD  
Fields of interest: Missional Theology; Urban Ministry; African Theology
E-mail: Mashatd@unisa.ac.za

Rev C Mangayi
Highest qualification: MTh
Fields of interest: Integral mission, Urban Ministry, Local Economic Development, HIV & AIDS
E-mail: Mangal@unisa.ac.za

Mr KM Makofane
Highest qualification: MTh
Fields of interest: Theology of Mission; African Theology
E-mail: Makofkm@unisa.ac.za

Rev TE Ngcobo
Highest qualification: MA
Fields of interest: Theology of Mission; Interreligious Relationships and Dialogue; Intercultural Communication; Biblical Mission
E-mail: Ngcobte@unisa.ac.za

Mrs L Mangoedi
Highest qualification: MTh
Fields of interest: Intercultural and Interreligious Dialogue; Women and Black Theology
E-mail: Mangoel@unisa.ac.za

Rev PA Makena
Highest qualification: BTh Honours
Fields of interest: Youth Ministry and Spirituality
E-mail: Makenpa@unisa.ac.za
Rev DW Methula
Highest qualification: BTh Honours
Fields of interest: Black Theology; Economic Justice; Culture and Pentecostal charismatic Theology
E-mail: Methudw@unisa.ac.za
Professor Extraordinarius:  Prof JJ Reimer (Germany)
Fields of interest:  Theology of Mission; Interreligious Relationships;
Mennonite Theology
E-mail: drjeimer@comundo.de
Emeritus Professor: Prof Willem Saayman
Highest qualification: DTh
Fields of interest:  Theology and History of Mission; African Theology
E-mail: Saaymwa@unisa.ac.za